Better Care

Stars shine bright at the BCHC staff awards

[ Zoom ]
Staff Awards Winners and Finalists Winter 2012
Congratulations to Staff Awards Winter 2012 Winners and Finalists

It was congratulations all round to the finalists at the BCHC staff awards evening.

A panel of judges, made up of directors, staff representatives and public members had the difficult job of choosing the finalists from over 100 nominations.

At the event, Tom Storrow, chairman and judging panel lead said: “Since we introduced the rolling awards programme at the beginning of 2012, it has grown in popularity with more and more staff and service users making the effort to nominate.

“This reflects a growing enthusiasm among staff to say an extra special 'thank you' to each other, which is a great asset to us as a relatively new organisation, as we move forward to become a Foundation Trust.

“In addition to the finalists, I would like to offer my congratulations to all those who were nominated – such dedication is commendable.”

Winners and finalists on the night were as follows:

Partnership Category

Winner: Michelle Burton and Alicia Doyle, Young People’s Health Worker


Safeguarding Children’s Administration Team, Nursing and Therapies

Amputation Rehabilitation Team (Libyan project), West Midlands Rehabilitation Centr


Ethical Categor

Winner: Inpatient Neuro-Rehabiliation Unit, Ward 9, Moseley Hall Hospital.


Aimee Dizon, Clinical Team Leader, Riverside Lodge Intermediate Care Centre

Community Forensic Team, Learning Disabilities


Quality and Innovation Category

Winner: Consultant Dental Surgeons Nick Ransford and Kenneth Wilson, and Community Dental Anxiety Team (Karen Clarke, Suzanne Coyne and Collette Poyner) from then Combined Community Dental Servic


Jennie Truman, Technical Instructor, Physiotherapy.

Dr Clive Thursfield, Consultant Clinical Scientist, Lead Clinician, ACT.


Caring Category

Winner: Pat Richards, Health Visitor


Liz Mollison, Mental Health Nurse, Rapid Response

Lisa Bennett, Clinical Specialist Occupational Therapist in Stroke Care


Commitment Category

Winner: Rebecca Halford and the Community Unit 27 Team, Good Hope Hospital


Marie Winters, Forensic Unit Manager

Foundation Trust (FT) Membership Recruitment Team including: Lesley Hatch, Bimla Saund, Angela Aboagye, Adeel Hameed, Maxine Genders, Donna-Marie Britton, Sonia Rodney, Podiatry Team, Warren Farm Physiotherapy .  


Responsive Category

Winner: 4-Hour Response Palliative Care Equipment Team, Equipment Loan Servic


Lorna Marie Glenn, District Nurse Practitioner

Andrew Felton, Rehabilitation Assistant, Rapid Response.


Accessible Category

Winner: Karen Watts, Safeguarding Children Named Nurse


Alison Aberdeen, Hazel Smith and Amanda Brooks, Combined Community Dental Service

School Nurse Saturday Working Team, Central Birmingham School Nursing.


Next chance to nominate

The Trust now runs a year-round awards programme, which is open to nominations from service users and members of the public who have received outstanding care or service from our staff or volunteers.

Details of how you can nominate will be made available in early 2013, so make it your new year’s resolution to nominate a colleague or team that deserves a special “thank you”.